Welcome stranger/friend!

Thanks for visiting! I truly appreciate each and every visitor! Have fun browsing and reading my blog. Feel free to comment whenever the desire strikes. Have a great day/night!

Friday, July 18, 2014

Review & Giveaway: Carrier


Carrier (The Line #1) by Anne Tibbets
My Copy: ARC eBook, 210 pages
Publication Date: June 16, 2014
Publisher: Carina Press
Source: Xpresso Book Tours
Genre: Dystopian | New Adult

Twenty-two -year-old Naya has spent nearly half her life as a sex slave in a government institution called The Line. When she’s kicked out after getting pregnant with twins, she’s got no way to earn a living and a horrifying choice to make: find someone to replace her, or have her babies taken in her stead.

A doctor with a history of aiding ex-Line girls, Ric Bennett, wants to help. He runs a team of rebels that can delete Naya’s records and free her forever. But when The Line sniffs out his plan, things get bloody, fast. Naya means more to them than just a chance at fresh faces—her twins are part of the government’s larger plan.

As they hide from government search parties, Ric comes to admire Naya’s quiet strength. And Naya realizes Ric might be a man she can trust. If they make it off the grid, they could build a new life. But first they’ll have to survive the long, vicious reach of The Line.


What you're in for: Sex slaves. An outside world that's not much better than "the Line". Hard times. A man's world. Defiance. On the run.

Monday, June 30, 2014

Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: On the Fence

On the Fence by Kasie West
My Copy: ARC ePub eBook, 184 pages
Publication Date: July 1, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
She's a tomboy. He's the boy next door…

Charlie Reynolds can outrun, outscore, and outwit every boy she knows. But when it comes to being a girl, Charlie doesn't know the first thing about anything. So when she starts working at a chichi boutique to pay off a speeding ticket, she finds herself in a strange new world. To cope with the stress of her new reality, Charlie takes to spending nights chatting with her neighbor Braden through the fence between their yards. As she grows to depend on their nightly Fence Chats, she realizes she's got a bigger problem than speeding tickets-she's falling for Braden. She knows what it means to go for the win, but if spilling her secret means losing him for good, the stakes just got too high.

Fun, original, and endearing, On the Fence is a romantic comedy about finding yourself and finding love where you least expect.

**A big thank you to Tor Teen for providing me with this ARC!**
I was in no way compensated for this review. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I've been a fan of Kasie West since reading (and loving) Pivot Point.  There is no denying that she is an excellent storyteller.  And this talent of hers shows in On the Fence as well.

Monday, June 23, 2014

Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: In the End

In the End (In the After #2) by Demitria Lunetta
My Copy: ARC ePub, 258 pages
Publication Date: June 24, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
Genre: Dystopian | Paranormal | Young Adult
The thrilling conclusion to In the After, the survival story of Amy and Baby, set in a near future where Earth has been overrun by vicious, predatory creatures.

It’s been three months since Amy escaped New Hope, and she’s been surviving on her own, like she did in the After. Until one day, her former fellow Guardian’s voice rings out in her earpiece. And in a desperate tone, Kay utters the four words Amy had hoped she would never hear: Dr. Reynolds has Baby.

Now it’s a race against time, for Baby is in imminent danger, her life threatened by the malevolent doctor who had helped start the end of the world. In order to save Baby, Amy must make her way to Fort Black, a prison-turned-survivor-colony, where she will need to find Ken, Kay’s brother. He alone holds the key to Baby’s survival.

One small slip-up on this quest could spark a downward spiral that would not only cost Baby and Amy their lives, but threaten the very survival of the people in the After.

**A big thank you to HarperCollins and Edelweiss for providing me with this eARC!**
I was in no way compensated for this review. I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.


What you're in for: A different take on zombies that were mistaken for aliens in the first book.  A kick-ass heroin who is compassionate, brave, and strong.  Two dystopian societies that may or may not be connected.  Lots of action and craziness.  Light romance.  A love triangle - but barely.  Good guys and bad guys.  A sisterly bond.  Diversity.  A captivating storyline.

Friday, June 20, 2014

Review: The Forever Song

The Forever Song (Blood of Eden #3) by Julie Kagawa
My Copy: Hardcover, 393 pages
Publication Date: April 15, 2014
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Source: Library
Genre: Dystopian | Paranormal | Romance | YA
Vengeance will be hers.

Allison Sekemoto once struggled with the question: human or monster? With the death of her love, Zeke, she has her answer.

Monster.

Allie will embrace her cold vampire side to hunt down and end Sarren, the psychopathic vampire who murdered Zeke. But the trail is bloody and long, and Sarren has left many surprises for Allie and her companions - her creator Kanin, and her blood brother, Jackal. The trail is leading straight to the one place they must protect at any cost - the last vampire-free zone on Earth, Eden. And Sarren has one final, brutal shock in store for Allie. 

In a ruined world where no life is sacred and former allies can turn on you in one heartbeat, Allie will face her darkest days. And if she succeeds, her triumph will be short-lived in the face of surviving forever alone.

THE FINAL HUNT IS ON.


What you're in for: Vampires. Rabids. Shock. Despair. Heartache. Inner struggles and outer struggles.

Monday, June 09, 2014

Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Push

Push (The Game #2) by Eve Silver
My Copy: ARC ePub eBook, 218 pages
Publication Date: June 10, 2014 (tomorrow!)
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
Genre: Paranormal | Science Fiction | Young Adult
It’s either break the rules or die.

Miki Jones lives her life by her own strict set of rules, to keep control, to keep the gray fog of grief at bay. Then she’s pulled into the Game, where she—and her team—will die unless she follows a new set of rules: those set by the mysterious Committee.

But rules don’t mean answers, and without answers, it’s hard to trust. People are dying. The rules are unraveling. And Miki knows she’s being watched, uncertain if it’s the Drau or someone—something—else. Forced to make impossible choices and battling to save those she loves, Miki begins to see the Committee in a glaring new light.

And then the Game crosses a new boundary, pushes harder into Miki’s and her friends’ lives, and there’s nothing in the rules that can save them now.

Push is the sequel Rush fans will be screaming for.


What you're in for: Aliens. Battle scenes. Confusion, due to weak world building and lack of explanations for certain elements. Surprises. Heartache. Another ending, like the first book, that makes you want to read the next book. Romance.

Saturday, June 07, 2014

Movie Talk: The Fault in Our Stars

I went to see this movie last night, which I was highly anticipating since reading the book last year.  And oh man!  I forgot how freaking sad this story is!  I mean, I remembered, but witnessing it again...oh, my heart! Seriously, the entire theater was in tears by the end.

God, this story is so good, isn't it?  But so, so sad.  I thought the movie actually did a good job portraying John Green's work.  Honestly, judging from the movie trailers, I wasn't expecting it to be as good as it was.  However, I found myself pleasantly surprised.  Especially when it came to the actor playing Augustus (Ansel Elgort).  I did not think he was going to be able to pull it off, but he ended up doing a good job.  I was satisfied with the acting as a whole.  I thought Shailene Woodley did a really good job portraying Hazel.

I feel like the movie did a very good job in deciding which parts to leave out.  Most of the scenes that were left out of the movie weren't all that necessary.  However, I do wish that they would have added in more of a relationship between Hazel and Isaac.  Their friendship was pretty much gone from the movie.

Overall, I was satisfied with the movie as a whole.  I would recommend seeing it for sure!  Now, though, I don't think I ever want to read the book or see the movie again.  Don't get me wrong, it's a very well-done story that demands to be read/watched/listened to.  It's just too sad!  I don't know if my heart can handle it!

Have you seen this movie yet? What did you think? Did you read the book?

Enter your email address:


Delivered by FeedBurner

Monday, May 19, 2014

Review: Not a Drop to Drink

Not a Drop to Drink (Not a Drop to Drink #1) by Mindy McGinnis

My Copy: ePub eBook, 192 pages
Publication Date: September 24, 2013
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Library
Genre: Dystopian | Young Adult

Regret was for people with nothing to defend, people who had no water.

Lynn knows every threat to her pond: drought, a snowless winter, coyotes, and, most importantly, people looking for a drink. She makes sure anyone who comes near the pond leaves thirsty, or doesn't leave at all.

Confident in her own abilities, Lynn has no use for the world beyond the nearby fields and forest. Having a life means dedicating it to survival, and the constant work of gathering wood and water. Having a pond requires the fortitude to protect it, something Mother taught her well during their quiet hours on the rooftop, rifles in hand.

But wisps of smoke on the horizon mean one thing: strangers. The mysterious footprints by the pond, nighttime threats, and gunshots make it all too clear Lynn has exactly what they want, and they won’t stop until they get it….

With evocative, spare language and incredible drama, danger, and romance, debut author Mindy McGinnis depicts one girl’s journey in a barren world not so different than our own.


What you're in for: A mother and daughter bond. Killing. Survival. Brutality. Friendships. Romance. Hard times. Death of loved ones. Happy moments. A cruel world with few silver linings.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search the web: