Welcome stranger/friend!

Thanks for visiting! I truly appreciate each and every visitor! Have fun browsing and reading my blog. Feel free to comment whenever the desire strikes. Have a great day/night!

Friday, September 19, 2014

Review: Gone Girl

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
My Copy: eBook, 474 pages
Publication Date: 2012
Publisher: Broadway Books
Source: Library

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?


What you're in for: Mystery. Surprises, and more surprises. Suspense. Holy-shit moments! The second part makes you rethink everything you thought you knew from the first part. Thriller. Crazy story. Good writing. Good characters. Abrupt ending. No fluff. Captivating. Keeps you on your toes! Rooting for, hating on, loving, surprised by, sympathy for the characters.

Thursday, September 18, 2014

What's Next?

What's Next? is a weekly meme hosted by Icey Books.  For this meme,
I provide 3-5 books that I want/have to read soon and you vote
on which one I should read next!  Super fun, I think!

This week I'm trying to choose from books I've borrowed, but haven't gotten around to reading yet!
So...help me decide...

Which one should I read next??

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I Wish I Could Change My Blog's Name, But I'm too Scared


It's not that I don't like my blog's name.  I just wish it didn't have "Book Reviews" in it.  I would love to talk about other interests of mine in addition to books.  I've been thinking about doing so a lot lately.  Like, I'm really into nail art and I would love to share new and cool things that I do with my nails with my readers, but that just does not fit with my blog at all.  My name can't be SIK Book Reviews and then I go and talk about nail stuff, right??  I have other interests too and I feel like my blog would be more alive (and I could have a bit more fun with it and I would probably post more often) if I could talk about things other than books.  But, my name specifically says that my blog is all about books.  And, don't get me wrong, I love talking about books.  That would still continue.  Mondays and Fridays would still be reserved for book reviews, but the other days could have more!  I just don't always have something to say about books in a discussion.  You see how often I post discussion posts...not that often.  It has to come to me, and it just doesn't always come to me, ya know?  So, I feel like if I could add my other interests to the pool of blog topics and just have the freedom to talk about ANYTHING, then I would post more often and have more fun with it!

But, I'm scared.  Here's why:

Monday, September 15, 2014

Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Blackbird

Blackbird (Blackbird Duology #1) by Anna Carey
My Copy: ARC eBook, 184 pages
Publication Date: September 16, 2014 (tomorrow!)
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Publisher via Edelweiss
Genre: Mystery | Suspense/Thriller | Young Adult
This twisty, breathless cat-and-mouse thrill ride, told in the second person, follows a girl with amnesia in present-day Los Angeles who is being pursued by mysterious and terrifying assailants.

A girl wakes up on the train tracks, a subway car barreling down on her. With only minutes to react, she hunches down and the train speeds over her. She doesn’t remember her name, where she is, or how she got there. She has a tattoo on the inside of her right wrist of a blackbird inside a box, letters and numbers printed just below: FNV02198. There is only one thing she knows for sure: people are trying to kill her. 

On the run for her life, she tries to untangle who she is and what happened to the girl she used to be. Nothing and no one are what they appear to be. But the truth is more disturbing than she ever imagined. 

The Maze Runner series meets Code Name Verity, Blackbird is relentless and action-packed, filled with surprising twists.


What you're in for: Second person narration. Mysteriousness. A list of facts. Murder. Romance. On the run. Police. Fugitives. A big twist (that I totally saw coming).

Friday, September 12, 2014

Review: Revolution 19

Revolution 19 (Revolution 19 #1) by Gregg Rosenblum
My Copy: Paperback, 266 pages
Publication Date: January 8, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Won from The Cover Contessa

From the creators of Homeland and the Final Destination films, Revolution 19 is a cinematic thriller unlike anything else.

At first they called it system-wide malfunctions when the robots stopped fighting at exactly 2:15 p.m. Greenwich Mean Time, August 17, 2051. For twenty-two hours the battlefields were silent. Then when the bots began killing again, now targeting their human commanders, they shook their heads and called it fatal programming errors. When, a day later, the skies over cities on six continents grew dark with warships, they began to understand. And when the bombs rained down and legions of bot foot soldiers marched into the burning ruins, killing any humans who resisted and dragging away the rest, they finally called it what it was: revolution.

Only a few escaped the robot war. Those who did lived in secret freeposts, hiding from the robot armies determined to control the human race. Nick, Kevin, and Cass are some of the lucky ones—they live with their parents in a secret human community outside the robot-controlled Cities. But when the bots discover their village and attack, the teens are forced to run. Determined to find out if their parents are alive, the three siblings venture into the heart of the robot City, where one misstep could be their last.


What you're in for: Robots. Structured cities. Unstructured woods. Helpful people and true believers. Robots on a power trip. "Re-education". Action. Memory loss. Sibling love. Death. Brutality. Friendship. Family. Technology.

Monday, September 01, 2014

Review: Requiem

Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver
My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: March 5, 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins
Source: Purchased

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has transformed. The nascent rebellion that was underway in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight. After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven. Pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels.

As Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain of the Wilds, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor. Requiem is told from both Lena and Hana's points of view. They live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.



What you're in for: Alternating POV. Resistance. Love triangle. Regret. Abuse. Dread. Suffering. Battle.

Friday, August 29, 2014

Review: Fifty Shades of Grey

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades #1) by E.L. James
My Copy: Paperback, 514 pages
Publication Date: May 25, 2011
Publisher: Vintage
Source: Gift

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

This book is intended for mature audiences.


What you're in for: Explicit content. An extremely innocent girl (who has never even held hands with a guy before). A rich and powerful man (who is the opposite of innocent). Sex. Rules. Limits. Punishment and rewards. Control. Power. Domination. BDSM. Multiple personalities?? Annoying main character. "Red room of pain" (a.k.a. the "playroom").
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search the web: