Welcome stranger/friend!

Thanks for visiting! I truly appreciate each and every visitor! Have fun browsing and reading my blog. Feel free to comment whenever the desire strikes. Have a great day/night!

Monday, September 01, 2014

Review: Requiem

Requiem (Delirium #3) by Lauren Oliver
My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: March 5, 2013
Publisher: HarperCollins
Source: Purchased

Now an active member of the resistance, Lena has transformed. The nascent rebellion that was underway in Pandemonium has ignited into an all-out revolution in Requiem, and Lena is at the center of the fight. After rescuing Julian from a death sentence, Lena and her friends fled to the Wilds. But the Wilds are no longer a safe haven. Pockets of rebellion have opened throughout the country, and the government cannot deny the existence of Invalids. Regulators infiltrate the borderlands to stamp out the rebels.

As Lena navigates the increasingly dangerous terrain of the Wilds, her best friend, Hana, lives a safe, loveless life in Portland as the fiancée of the young mayor. Requiem is told from both Lena and Hana's points of view. They live side by side in a world that divides them until, at last, their stories converge.



What you're in for: Alternating POV. Resistance. Love triangle. Regret. Abuse. Dread. Suffering. Battle.

Friday, August 29, 2014

Review: Fifty Shades of Grey

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades #1) by E.L. James
My Copy: Paperback, 514 pages
Publication Date: May 25, 2011
Publisher: Vintage
Source: Gift

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.

Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

Erotic, amusing, and deeply moving, the Fifty Shades Trilogy is a tale that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you forever.

This book is intended for mature audiences.


What you're in for: Explicit content. An extremely innocent girl (who has never even held hands with a guy before). A rich and powerful man (who is the opposite of innocent). Sex. Rules. Limits. Punishment and rewards. Control. Power. Domination. BDSM. Multiple personalities?? Annoying main character. "Red room of pain" (a.k.a. the "playroom").

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Reviews Without Ratings


I don't mean this as a personal judgement on any reviewers, so please don't take any offence.  This is merely my personal opinion and my personal preference.

I don't like when reviews don't have any sort of rating accompanying the actual written review.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Top Ten Books I Really Want to Read, But Don't Own Yet

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish every Tuesday.  Every week it's a different topic and those of us who decide to join in share our top ten for the week's topic!

Okay, first of all, OMG there are so many!!!  This was a very difficult list to make.  I mean, c'mon, I have 682 books on my to-read shelf on Goodreads and I don't own many of them!  I decided this list would consist of books that have been released already, but I just don't own yet.  If I included books that are not out yet, it would have made it so much harder (and would probably consist mostly of sequels!).  Okay, here's the list I finally came up with (in no particular order):

Monday, August 25, 2014

Review: Pandemonium

Pandemonium (Delirium #2) by Lauren Oliver
My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: February 28, 2012
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Purchased

I’m pushing aside 
the memory of my nightmare, 
pushing aside thoughts of Alex, 
pushing aside thoughts of Hana 
and my old school, 
push, 
push, 
push, 
like Raven taught me to do.
The old life is dead.
But the old Lena is dead too.
I buried her.
I left her beyond a fence,
behind a wall of smoke and flame.


Lauren Oliver delivers an electrifying follow-up to her acclaimed New York Times bestseller, Delirium. This riveting, brilliant novel crackles with the fire of fierce defiance, forbidden romance, and the sparks of a revolution about to ignite. 


What you're in for: Then and Now style. The wilds. Romance. Resistance. Twists and turns and surprises. Ups and downs. Scavengers.

Friday, August 22, 2014

Review: Outside In

Outside In (Insiders #2) by Maria V. Snyder
My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: January 3, 2011
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Source: Purchased

Me?

A leader?

Okay, I did prove that there's more to Inside than we knew.

That a whole world exists beyond this cube we live in. And finding that led to a major rebellion—between worker scrubs like me and the snobby uppers who rule our world. Make that ruled. Because of me, we're free. I thought that meant I was off the hook, and could go off on my own again while still touching base with Riley, of course. He's the one upper I think I can trust. But then we learned that there's outside and then there is Outside.

And something from Outside wants In.



What you're in for: Sabateurs. Explosions. Discoveries. Romance. Strive for equality. More rebellion.  Sides.  Characters side-switching. 

Monday, August 18, 2014

Review: If I Stay

If I Stay (If I Stay #1) by Gayle Forman

My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: April 2, 2009
Publisher: Dutton
Source: Purchased



A critically acclaimed novel that will change the way you look at life, love, and family. 


In the blink of an eye everything changes. Seventeen ­year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall what happened afterwards, watching her own damaged body being taken from the wreck. Little by little she struggles to put together the pieces- to figure out what she has lost, what she has left, and the very difficult choice she must make. Heartwrenchingly beautiful, Mia's story will stay with you for a long, long time.


What you're in for: Accident. Death. Gore. Life. In-between death and life. Romance. Friendship. Family. Music. Decisions. Emotion.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search the web: