Welcome stranger/friend!

Thanks for visiting! I truly appreciate each and every visitor! Have fun browsing and reading my blog. Feel free to comment whenever the desire strikes. Have a great day/night!

Monday, January 26, 2015

Review: Nobody

Nobody by Jennifer Lynn Barnes
My Copy: ARC Paperback, 393 pages
Publication Date: January, 2013
Publisher: Egmont USA
Source: Traded for

There are people in this world who are Nobody. No one sees them. No one notices them. They live their lives under the radar, forgotten as soon as you turn away. 

That’s why they make the perfect assassins.

The Institute finds these people when they’re young and takes them away for training. But an untrained Nobody is a threat to their organization. And threats must be eliminated.

Sixteen-year-old Claire has been invisible her whole life, missed by the Institute’s monitoring. But now they’ve ID’ed her and send seventeen-year-old Nix to remove her. Yet the moment he lays eyes on her, he can’t make the hit. It’s as if Claire and Nix are the only people in the world for each other. And they are—because no one else ever notices them. 


Nobody has poor world building. It doesn't say when the story takes place. The only hint at the year is that the Society has been studying nobodies for thousands of years. And even that's a broad hint. Nothing else seems like it's in the future, though. The world seems as it is now.  So, your guess is as good as mine for what kind of year we are looking at, if it even is set in the future...

Friday, January 23, 2015

Review: Deliverance

Deliverance (Defiance #3) by C.J. Redwine
My Copy: Hardcover, 470 pages
Publication Date: August 26, 2014
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
Source: Library

Everything hangs in the balance, and nothing is certain: Rachel has been kidnapped by enemy forces and is being taken to Rowansmark while Logan, imprisoned and awaiting trial, is unable to leave Lankenshire. Separated from each other and their Baalboden comrades, each must find a way to achieve what they desperately want: to rid their world once and for all of the Commander and the tech that controls the deadly Cursed One.

Fighting through her pain and embracing the warrior she’s become, Rachel will do whatever it takes to escape her enemies’ clutches and join Logan in his fight. But when she learns a secret that changes everything, she realizes that escaping Ian and his tracker friends is no longer an option if she wants to save the people she loves. Instead, she’ll have to destroy Rowansmark from the inside out—if she can survive the journey through the Wasteland.

Logan needs allies if he wants to thwart Rowansmark’s power grab and rescue Rachel. But securing allies will mean betraying his beliefs and enlisting the help of the man he hates more than anyone: Commander Jason Chase. Driven by his fierce love for Rachel and his determination to make their world safe, Logan may be just the weapon the city-states need to defeat the Cursed One.

But as Rowansmark bears down and uneasy alliances are tested, will Rachel and Logan’s love for each other be enough to surmount the unbelievable odds against them?


For the majority of this book, Logan and Rachel are separated again. It's interesting, I'm a huge fan of romance, but something about when these two are apart makes me enjoy the story more. I think maybe it's because it's more intense and exciting, because they are both going through their own crazy journeys while worrying about each other and trying to get back to each other to the other. It makes for a more interesting story to me. Therefore, I liked the first and third books better than the second of this series.

Monday, January 19, 2015

Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: Mayhem

Mayhem (Mayhem #1) by Jamie Shaw
My Copy: ARC eBook, 271 pages
Publication Date: January 20, 2015 (Tomorrow!)
Publisher: Avon Impulse
Source: Edelweiss

When college freshman Rowan Michaels meets gorgeous, up-and-coming rock star Adam Everest, she knows a player like him is the last thing she needs after her ex-boyfriend shattered her heart. But she can't stop thinking about the kiss they shared on his tour bus.

On the first day of school, Rowan is stunned when Adam saunters into her French class. He's soon failing miserably, and, on a whim, she offers to tutor him. But Adam doesn't recognize her as a makeup-free, glasses-clad college student—a far cry from the beautiful, mysterious "Peach" he met at his concert.

During a wild weekend on tour with the band, Rowan can't help falling for the sweet guy buried beneath Adam's rocker persona. Yet she knows she could never compete with the girls constantly throwing themselves at his feet. She'd just end up hurt … again.

Peach is all Adam thinks about, though, and when Rowan realizes this, she has a decision to make: stay just friends to protect her fragile heart … or reveal the truth about the night they met and admit she's fallen completely, hopelessly in love with him. 


First, let me start by saying that I'm such a sucker for romance. While this book definitely wasn't perfect, I couldn't put it down. The romance was really, really good.

Friday, January 16, 2015

Review: I Am Legend

I Am Legend by Richard Matheson

My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: 1954
Publisher: Millenium
Source: Purchased



Robert Neville is the last living man on Earth... but he is not alone. Every other man, woman and child on the planet has become a vampire, and they are hungry for Neville's blood.

By day he is the hunter, stalking the undead through the ruins of civilisation. By night, he barricades himself in his home and prays for the dawn.


How long can one man survive like this?


I was surprised by just how different this book is from the movie adaptation. There are many, many aspects that differ. They basically only took the main concept from the book and ran with it.

Monday, January 12, 2015

Review: Captive

Captive (The Blackcoat Rebellion #2) by Aimee Carter
My Copy: Hardcover, 298 pages
Publication Date: November 25, 2014
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Source: Library

For the past two months, Kitty Doe's life has been a lie. Forced to impersonate the Prime Minister's niece, her frustration grows as her trust in her fake fiancĂ© cracks, her real boyfriend is forbidden and the Blackcoats keep her in the dark more than ever. 

But in the midst of discovering that her role in the Hart family may not be as coincidental as she thought, she's accused of treason and is forced to face her greatest fear: Elsewhere. A prison where no one can escape. 

As one shocking revelation leads to the next, Kitty learns the hard way that she can trust no one, not even the people she thought were on her side. With her back against the wall, Kitty wants to believe she'll do whatever it takes to support the rebellion she believes in—but is she prepared to pay the ultimate price?


My first thought after finishing this book is that there are no Acknowledgements. What's up with that? There was nothing at the end but blank pages after the final page of the story. And it's not an ARC, either. I always, always read the Acknowledgements whenever I am finished reading a book that is not an ARC (ARCs don't typically have the Acknowledgements yet).  Acknowledgements provide me with a sort of closure to the book.  I wonder why Carter decided to leave them out.

Friday, January 09, 2015

Review: The Queen

The Queen (The Selection #0.4) by Kiera Cass

My Copy: eBook, 71 pages
Publication Date: December 2, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen Impulse
Source: Purchased



Before America Singer's story began, another girl came to the palace to compete for the hand of a different prince….


Don't miss this digital original novella set in the captivating world of Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series. This prequel story takes place before the events of The Selection and is told from the point of view of Prince Maxon's mother, Amberly. Discover a whole new Selection with this inside look at how Maxon's parents met—and how an ordinary girl named Amberly became a beloved queen.


I enjoyed this little story. I'm not generally a fan of the mid-series short story, but this one was good. It gives more perspective into Queen Amberly's character and it's nice to see some of her back story as well as her experience in the Selection.

Wednesday, January 07, 2015

A Look Back at 2014!

I know this is a bit late, but I've been sick.  :(  I already had this post started, so I decided to post it anyway (even though it's late)!

In 2014, I read 65 books.  Below is my year-end wrap up.  Enjoy!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search the web: