Welcome stranger/friend!

Thanks for visiting! I truly appreciate each and every visitor! Have fun browsing and reading my blog. Feel free to comment whenever the desire strikes. Have a great day/night!

Tuesday, April 08, 2014

Most Unique/Creative Books I've Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke
and the Bookish every Tuesday.  Every week it's a different
topic and those of us who decide to join in share our top 
ten for the week's topic!  I, however, tend to stray from the
number 10...

Monday, April 07, 2014

I'm a Quitter!

No, not a quitter of blogging.  I know I haven't been blogging much and have really been slacking off in the review department.  But, I have a legitimate reason, I swear!  Last week (April 1, to be exact), I decided to quit smoking.  It's something I've been trying to do for years and I decided to try yet again.  I really struggle with it, like most people, so sometimes I fail to do certain things that are normally routine or that I normally love to do.  Such as reading.

Wednesday, April 02, 2014

April Releases!

I thought since I am no longer doing my Newsday Tuesday (at least for the time being), I still would like to let you guys know about upcoming books I'm excited about.  So, I decided I would do a monthly post about it.  (P.S. - Want me to bring back Newsday Tuesday?  Let me know!  If I get enough requests, I just might.)

The following books are upcoming April 2014 releases that I'm looking forward to reading (click on images to learn more about each book):

     
Okay, so technically, I'm not anticipating Sweet Reckoning as much because I've already read the ARC.  But, I definitely couldn't wait to get my hands on it and it was really good, so it deserves a spot here!  Watch for my review on April 28!!  And I cannot wait to read The Treatment!  The Program was very good and left me wanting more.  Runner up to these two is Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor, but I limit myself to two most anticipated books.  

Tuesday, April 01, 2014

A Look Back at March 2014

This is a new feature I'm trying out.  I'll take a look back at the month, noting bookish/blogish things that went down at the end of every month.  This feature is inspired by Always Lost in Stories' Best of the Bunch monthly meme, The Perpetual Page Turner's Monthly Rewind, and all those weekly recap posts around the blogosphere.  I decided I should give something like that a try.  Let's see how it goes!  Let me know what you think in the comments.  Anything I'm missing or that you'd like to see in these posts??  How's the order of things?  I appreciate any and all feedback for this new feature!  :)


Friday, March 28, 2014

Review: Mila 2.0

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza
My Copy: ARC Paperback, 470 pages
Publication Date: March 12, 2013
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Through trade with Chri
Genre: Science Fiction | Young Adult

Mila 2.0 is the first book in an electrifying sci-fi thriller series about a teenage girl who discovers that she is an experiment in artificial intelligence.

Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past—that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.

Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology. However, what Mila’s becoming is beyond anyone’s imagination, including her own, and it just might save her life.

Mila 2.0 is Debra Driza’s bold debut and the first book in a Bourne Identity-style trilogy that combines heart-pounding action with a riveting exploration of what it really means to be human. Fans of I Am Number Four will love Mila for who she is and what she longs to be—and a cliffhanger ending will leave them breathlessly awaiting the sequel.


What you're in for: A girl who is actually an Android, developed with the purpose of being a spy.  High school drama (at the start).  Slow beginnings.  On the run.  Fight scenes, including Android vs. Android and Android vs. human.  Challenges.  An evil boss man.  Internal struggles between embracing the Android side or humanity.  Dystopian elements.  Action.  Murder.

Monday, March 24, 2014

Mini Review: The Guard

The Guard (The Selection #2.5) by Kiera Cass

My Copy: Paperback, 92 pages
Publication Date: February 4, 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Source: Library
Genre: Dystopian | Romance | Young Adult
Before America Singer met Prince Maxon . . . 
Before she entered the Selection . . . 
She was in love with a boy named Aspen Leger.

Don't miss this digital original novella set in the captivating world of Kiera Cass's #1 New York Times bestselling Selection trilogy. This brand new 64-page story begins just after the group of Selected girls is narrowed down to the Elite and is told from Aspen's point of view. The Guard also features a teaser to The One, the thrilling conclusion to The Selection trilogy.



What you're in for: Romance. Rebels. A kind of behind the scenes view from Aspen's perspective.

Friday, March 21, 2014

Mini Review: The Prince

The Prince (The Selection #0.5) by Kiera Cass

My Copy: Paperback, 80 pages
Publication Date: March 5, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Source: Library
Genre: Dystopian | Romance | Young Adult

Before thirty-five girls were chosen to compete in the Selection...

Before Aspen broke America's heart...

There was another girl in Prince Maxon's life...

Don't miss this thrilling 64-page original novella set in the world of the New York Times bestselling novel The Selection. Also features a teaser to The Elite, Kiera Cass's hotly anticipated sequel to The Selection.



What you're in for: Romance. A great peek inside Maxon's head. A renewed love for Maxon and the series!
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search the web: