Welcome stranger/friend!

Thanks for visiting! I truly appreciate each and every visitor! Have fun browsing and reading my blog. Feel free to comment whenever the desire strikes. Have a great day/night!

Thursday, November 27, 2014

My Nails This Week - Sparkly Winter

This is a new feature I have decided to try out.  I love trying different things with my nails and, while it doesn't have to do with books, I still thought it would be fun to share my creations with you!  Because why should I have to limit myself to books, right??  This will be a sporadic feature, as I don't do designs on my nails every week (even thought I usually do paint my nails every week).

Some of my nail designs will be of my own unique creations, some will be variations of designs I've found elsewhere, and some will be straight up me trying to re-create a really cool design I saw somewhere (I will always give credit for the designs I didn't come up with on my own).

Wednesday, November 26, 2014

Not a fan of GIFs

I don't mean this as an offence to anyone who uses GIFs regularly, but I'm not a fan of GIFs in general.  I will still follow blogs that use GIFs and I will still read posts that contain them, but I just find GIFs to be distracting while reading.  My eye always goes to them and it's really hard to focus on the text, which is what I am actually interested in.  I mean, that's why I'm reading the post, right?  Because I'm interested in the content.

Monday, November 24, 2014

Early Review: Rite of Rejection

Rite of Rejection by Sarah Negovetich
My Copy: ARC eBook, 211 pages
Publication Date: December 4, 2014
Publisher: Self-Published
Source: NetGalley

Straight-laced, sixteen-year-old Rebecca can’t wait for her Acceptance. A fancy ball, eligible bachelors, and her debut as an official member of society. Instead, the Machine rejects Rebecca. Labeled as a future criminal, she’s shipped off to a life sentence in a lawless penal colony.

A life behind barbed wire fences with the world’s most dangerous people terrifies Rebecca. She reluctantly joins a band of misfit teens in a risky escape plan, complete with an accidental fiancĂ© she’s almost certain she can learn to love.

But freedom comes with a price. To escape a doomed future and prove her innocence, Rebecca must embrace the criminal within.


What you're in for: Dance cards. The Machine (which accepts or rejects people as being fit to be members of society). Permanent Isolation Territory. Undesirable living conditions. Searching. Plans of escape. Danger. Uncertainty. Rebelling. Romance.

Friday, November 21, 2014

Movie Talk: Mockingjay Part 1

I'm so glad they used the same director for Mockingjay Part 1 as they did for Catching Fire!  Another Hunger Games movie very well done!  All I can think about is how I can't wait to see the final movie (and I'm really itching to re-read the books!).

I was wondering at which point they were going to end Part 1 and, while I'm satisfied with the decision, I had slight higher hopes.  It was still a decent way to end it thought.  I mean, where can you cut off that story, anyway?  I'm not sure there is a really good part to do it.

I'm glad that they captured the action that Katniss was left out of.  One of my complaints of the Mockingjay book was that Katniss kept getting hurt and going back to District 13, while missing all the action, so then us readers only got the replay of what happened.  It was good to actually get to SEE it.  I'm pumped that these movies are turning out so well and I can't wait for the final installment.

Also, there was a small little teaser for the Insurgent movie during the previews.  I can't wait to see a full trailer!!


Enter your email address:


Delivered by FeedBurner

Thursday, November 20, 2014

My Nails This Week

This is a new feature I have decided to try out.  I love trying different things with my nails and, while it doesn't have to do with books, I still thought it would be fun to share my creations with you!  Because why should I have to limit myself to books, right??  This will be a sporadic feature, as I don't do designs on my nails every week (even thought I usually do paint my nails every week).

Some of my nail designs will be of my own unique creations, some will be variations of designs I've found elsewhere, and some will be straight up me trying to re-create a really cool design I saw somewhere (I will always give credit for the designs I didn't come up with on my own).

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Do YA Books have Prettier Covers than Adult Books?


I don't know what it is about Young Adult book covers, but I just find myself drawn to them. They seem, to me, to be so much prettier than Adult book covers.

YA                               Adult
      

Monday, November 17, 2014

Review: This is What Happy Looks Like

This is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith
My Copy: ARC Paperback, 403 pages
Publication Date: April 2, 2013
Publisher: Headline
Source: Won from Cuddlebuggery Book Blog

If fate sent you an email, would you answer?

When teenage movie star Graham Larkin accidentally sends small town girl Ellie O'Neill an email about his pet pig, the two seventeen-year-olds strike up a witty and unforgettable correspondence, discussing everything under the sun, except for their names or backgrounds. 


Then Graham finds out that Ellie's Maine hometown is the perfect location for his latest film, and he decides to take their relationship from online to in-person. But can a star as famous as Graham really start a relationship with an ordinary girl like Ellie? And why does Ellie want to avoid the media's spotlight at all costs?


What you're in for: Emails. Loneliness. Money issues. A small town girl. A movie star. Secrets. Romance. Friendship. Family.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search the web: