Welcome stranger/friend!

Thanks for visiting! I truly appreciate each and every visitor! Have fun browsing and reading my blog. Feel free to comment whenever the desire strikes. Have a great day/night!

Monday, September 29, 2014

Audiobook Review: Revived

Revived by Cat Patrick
My Copy: Unabridged Audiobook
Publication Date: May 8, 2012
Publisher: Listening Library
Source: Library

It started with a bus crash.
Daisy Appleby was a little girl when it happened, and she barely remembers the accident or being brought back to life. At that moment, though, she became one of the first subjects in a covert government program that tests a drug called Revive.

Now fifteen, Daisy has died and been Revived five times. Each death means a new name, a new city, and a new identity. The only constant in Daisy’s life is constant change.

Then Daisy meets Matt and Audrey McKean, charismatic siblings who quickly become her first real friends. But if she’s ever to have a normal life, Daisy must escape from an experiment that’s much larger—and more sinister—than she ever imagined.

From its striking first chapter to its emotionally charged ending, Cat Patrick’s Revived is a riveting story about what happens when life and death collide.



What you're in for: Death. Revival drug. Romance. First kisses. Sadness. Surprises. Friendship. Changes. 

Friday, September 26, 2014

Review: Don't Let Go

Don't Let Go (PERSEFoNE #3) by Michelle Gagnon
My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: August 26, 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Source: Purchased

In this pulse-pounding final installment of the Don’t Turn Around trilogy, which in a starred review Kirkus called “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for teens,” Noa and Peter race across the country in their search to destroy Project Persephone before time runs out.

After a devastating loss, Noa Torson is out of options. On the run with the three remaining teens of Persephone’s Army, she is up against immeasurable odds. The group is outnumbered, outsmarted, and outrun. But they are not giving up. 

When Noa and Peter realize they can’t run anymore, and that Noa’s health is failing, they know they must go back to where this began. But when they come face-to-face with the man who started it all, the question becomes, can they win?


This riveting final book in the Don’t Turn Around trilogy ratchets up the action as Noa and Peter confront the evil that has chased them and won’t let them go.


What you're in for: On the run. Hacking. Action. Traps. Surprises. Disappointment.

Monday, September 22, 2014

Hits Stores Tomorrow Review: In a Handful of Dust

In a Handful of Dust (Not a Drop to Drink #2) by Mindy McGinnis
My Copy: ARC ePub eBook, 237 pages
Publication Date: September 23, 2014 (tomorrow!)
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Edelweiss
Genre: Dystopian | Young Adult

The only thing bigger than the world is fear.

Lucy’s life by the pond has always been full. She has water and friends, laughter and the love of her adoptive mother, Lynn, who has made sure that Lucy’s childhood was very different from her own. Yet it seems Lucy’s future is settled already—a house, a man, children, and a water source—and anything beyond their life by the pond is beyond reach.

When disease burns through their community, the once life-saving water of the pond might be the source of what’s killing them now. Rumors of desalinization plants in California have lingered in Lynn’s mind, and the prospect of a “normal” life for Lucy sets the two of them on an epic journey west to face new dangers: hunger, mountains, deserts, betrayal, and the perils of a world so vast that Lucy fears she could be lost forever, only to disappear in a handful of dust.

In this companion to Not a Drop to Drink, Mindy McGinnis thrillingly combines the heart-swelling hope of a journey, the challenges of establishing your own place in the world, and the gripping physical danger of nature in a futuristic frontier.


What you're in for: Community. Isolation. Disease. Travel. Danger. Survival. Changes. Heart break. Hope.

Sunday, September 21, 2014

Movie Talk: The Maze Runner

Well, I just got home from the movie theatre.  I went to see The Maze Runner tonight.  As you may or may not know (but can tell from the lack of it in my review archive), I did not read The Maze Runner.  The truth is I started it a couple years ago, but just didn't like the beginning.  So, I put it down.  Then, I saw the trailer for this movie and thought, wow, this movie looks like it might be good!  I decided I wanted to check out the movie.  I debated giving the book another try, but tonight my husband and I decided to just go to the movie.

Friday, September 19, 2014

Review: Gone Girl

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn
My Copy: eBook, 474 pages
Publication Date: 2012
Publisher: Broadway Books
Source: Library

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy's diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?


What you're in for: Mystery. Surprises, and more surprises. Suspense. Holy-shit moments! The second part makes you rethink everything you thought you knew from the first part. Thriller. Crazy story. Good writing. Good characters. Abrupt ending. No fluff. Captivating. Keeps you on your toes! Rooting for, hating on, loving, surprised by, sympathy for the characters.

Thursday, September 18, 2014

What's Next?

What's Next? is a weekly meme hosted by Icey Books.  For this meme,
I provide 3-5 books that I want/have to read soon and you vote
on which one I should read next!  Super fun, I think!

This week I'm trying to choose from books I've borrowed, but haven't gotten around to reading yet!
So...help me decide...

Which one should I read next??

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I Wish I Could Change My Blog's Name, But I'm too Scared


It's not that I don't like my blog's name.  I just wish it didn't have "Book Reviews" in it.  I would love to talk about other interests of mine in addition to books.  I've been thinking about doing so a lot lately.  Like, I'm really into nail art and I would love to share new and cool things that I do with my nails with my readers, but that just does not fit with my blog at all.  My name can't be SIK Book Reviews and then I go and talk about nail stuff, right??  I have other interests too and I feel like my blog would be more alive (and I could have a bit more fun with it and I would probably post more often) if I could talk about things other than books.  But, my name specifically says that my blog is all about books.  And, don't get me wrong, I love talking about books.  That would still continue.  Mondays and Fridays would still be reserved for book reviews, but the other days could have more!  I just don't always have something to say about books in a discussion.  You see how often I post discussion posts...not that often.  It has to come to me, and it just doesn't always come to me, ya know?  So, I feel like if I could add my other interests to the pool of blog topics and just have the freedom to talk about ANYTHING, then I would post more often and have more fun with it!

But, I'm scared.  Here's why:
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search the web: