Welcome stranger/friend!

Thanks for visiting! I truly appreciate each and every visitor! Have fun browsing and reading my blog. Feel free to comment whenever the desire strikes. Have a great day/night!

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Top Ten Book Couples Who Stole My Heart

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish every Tuesday.  Every week it's a different topic and those of us who decide to join in share our top ten for the week's topic!

The following are my favourite book couples who stole my heart:

Monday, April 21, 2014

Review: Echo in Time

Echo in Time (Erasing Time #2) by C.J. Hill
My Copy: Paperback, 387 pages
Publication Date: December 23, 2013
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Library
Genre: Dystopian | Science Fiction | Young Adult
Echo in Time delivers on "the possibility of an equally thrilling sequel" (Kirkus Reviews) to Erasing Time.

After being pulled 400 years into the future, twins Taylor and Sheridan have found some refuge from the government of Traventon, which used the dangerous Time Strainer to yank the girls from the past. Yet the threat of the dangerous technology still looms. Taylor and an ally, Joseph, are selected to go on a mission to destroy the time machine and weapon. But their actions before they do may have major consequences for the future and the past.


What you're in for: Jealousy. Computer science. Twins (x2). Time travel. Death. Second chances. Changes to the past. People from the 21st century living in a futuristic Dystopian society.

Tuesday, April 08, 2014

Most Unique/Creative Books I've Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke
and the Bookish every Tuesday.  Every week it's a different
topic and those of us who decide to join in share our top 
ten for the week's topic!  I, however, tend to stray from the
number 10...

Monday, April 07, 2014

I'm a Quitter!

No, not a quitter of blogging.  I know I haven't been blogging much and have really been slacking off in the review department.  But, I have a legitimate reason, I swear!  Last week (April 1, to be exact), I decided to quit smoking.  It's something I've been trying to do for years and I decided to try yet again.  I really struggle with it, like most people, so sometimes I fail to do certain things that are normally routine or that I normally love to do.  Such as reading.

Wednesday, April 02, 2014

April Releases!

I thought since I am no longer doing my Newsday Tuesday (at least for the time being), I still would like to let you guys know about upcoming books I'm excited about.  So, I decided I would do a monthly post about it.  (P.S. - Want me to bring back Newsday Tuesday?  Let me know!  If I get enough requests, I just might.)

The following books are upcoming April 2014 releases that I'm looking forward to reading (click on images to learn more about each book):

     
Okay, so technically, I'm not anticipating Sweet Reckoning as much because I've already read the ARC.  But, I definitely couldn't wait to get my hands on it and it was really good, so it deserves a spot here!  Watch for my review on April 28!!  And I cannot wait to read The Treatment!  The Program was very good and left me wanting more.  Runner up to these two is Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor, but I limit myself to two most anticipated books.  

Tuesday, April 01, 2014

A Look Back at March 2014

This is a new feature I'm trying out.  I'll take a look back at the month, noting bookish/blogish things that went down at the end of every month.  This feature is inspired by Always Lost in Stories' Best of the Bunch monthly meme, The Perpetual Page Turner's Monthly Rewind, and all those weekly recap posts around the blogosphere.  I decided I should give something like that a try.  Let's see how it goes!  Let me know what you think in the comments.  Anything I'm missing or that you'd like to see in these posts??  How's the order of things?  I appreciate any and all feedback for this new feature!  :)


Friday, March 28, 2014

Review: Mila 2.0

Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza
My Copy: ARC Paperback, 470 pages
Publication Date: March 12, 2013
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
Source: Through trade with Chri
Genre: Science Fiction | Young Adult

Mila 2.0 is the first book in an electrifying sci-fi thriller series about a teenage girl who discovers that she is an experiment in artificial intelligence.

Mila was never meant to learn the truth about her identity. She was a girl living with her mother in a small Minnesota town. She was supposed to forget her past—that she was built in a secret computer science lab and programmed to do things real people would never do.

Now she has no choice but to run—from the dangerous operatives who want her terminated because she knows too much and from a mysterious group that wants to capture her alive and unlock her advanced technology. However, what Mila’s becoming is beyond anyone’s imagination, including her own, and it just might save her life.

Mila 2.0 is Debra Driza’s bold debut and the first book in a Bourne Identity-style trilogy that combines heart-pounding action with a riveting exploration of what it really means to be human. Fans of I Am Number Four will love Mila for who she is and what she longs to be—and a cliffhanger ending will leave them breathlessly awaiting the sequel.


What you're in for: A girl who is actually an Android, developed with the purpose of being a spy.  High school drama (at the start).  Slow beginnings.  On the run.  Fight scenes, including Android vs. Android and Android vs. human.  Challenges.  An evil boss man.  Internal struggles between embracing the Android side or humanity.  Dystopian elements.  Action.  Murder.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search the web: