Welcome stranger/friend!

Thanks for visiting! I truly appreciate each and every visitor! Have fun browsing and reading my blog. Feel free to comment whenever the desire strikes. Have a great day/night!

Thursday, October 23, 2014

What's Next?

What's Next? is a weekly meme hosted by Icey Books.  For this meme,
I provide 3-5 books that I want/have to read soon and you vote
on which one I should read next!  Super fun, I think!

So...help me decide...

Which one should I read next??

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Moving Away From YA?


I'm Surrounded and Dominated by YA

I've been thinking this through a lot lately.  My reading and blog have been dominated by Young Adult books for so long and I do truly love YA.  In fact, I think all of my favourite books are YA.  And The Hunger Games is what kicked me into my ultimate reading frenzy!  But, lately, I've been feeling the need to read more Adult books.  I still want to read YA.  I mean, my bookshelf and Goodreads "to-read" shelf are stacked with YA books, so I definitely will read more YA.  But, this is also kind of the problem.  I got so into YA that all I was adding to Goodreads were YA books.  The blogs I follow all feature YA books.  I am SURROUNDED BY YA!!

Monday, October 20, 2014

Review: The Queen of Zombie Hearts

The Queen of Zombie Hearts (White Rabbit Chronicles #3) by Gena Showalter
My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: September 30, 2014
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Source: Purchased

I have a plan. 

We'll either destroy them for good, or they'll destroy us. 

Either way, only one of us is walking away. 

In the stunning conclusion to the wildly popular White Rabbit Chronicles, Alice "Ali" Bell thinks the worst is behind her. She's ready to take the next step with boyfriend Cole Holland, the leader of the zombie slayers…until Anima Industries, the agency controlling the zombies, launches a sneak attack, killing four of her friends. It's then she realizes that humans can be more dangerous than monsters…and the worst has only begun. 

As the surviving slayers prepare for war, Ali discovers she, too, can control the zombies…and she isn't the girl she thought she was. She's connected to the woman responsible for killing—and turning—Cole's mother. How can their relationship endure? As secrets come to light, and more slayers are taken or killed, Ali will fight harder than ever to bring down Anima—even sacrificing her own life for those she loves.


What you're in for: Zombies. Ambush. Kick-ass heroin. Romance. Action. Death. Injuries. Emotional. Awesome secondary characters. Witty writing style. Surprises. Friendship. Memories. Revelations.

Friday, October 17, 2014

Review: The Scorch Trials

The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2) by James Dashner
My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: October 12, 2010
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Source: Purchased

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. No more puzzles. No more variables. And no more running. Thomas was sure that escape meant he and the Gladers would get their lives back. But no one really knew what sort of life they were going back to.

In the Maze, life was easy. They had food, and shelter, and safety... until Teresa triggered the end. In the world outside the Maze, however, the end was triggered long ago.

Burned by sun flares and baked by a new, brutal climate, the earth is a wasteland. Government has disintegrated—and with it, order—and now Cranks, people covered in festering wounds and driven to murderous insanity by the infectious disease known as the Flare, roam the crumbling cities hunting for their next victim... and meal.

The Gladers are far from finished with running. Instead of freedom, they find themselves faced with another trial. They must cross the Scorch, the most burned-out section of the world, and arrive at a safe haven in two weeks. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Thomas can only wonder—does he hold the secret of freedom somewhere in his mind? Or will he forever be at the mercy of WICKED?


What you're in for: Phase 2. Craziness. Telepathy. Illusions. Confusion. Tattoos. Surprises. Suspense. Betrayal.

Monday, October 06, 2014

Review: Dark Places

Dark Places by Gillian Flynn
My Copy: eBook, 368 pages
Publication Date: May 5, 2009
Publisher: Broadway Books
Source: Purchased

Libby Day was just seven years old when her evidence put her fifteen-year-old brother behind bars.

Since then, she had been drifting. But when she is contacted by a group who are convinced of Ben's innocence, Libby starts to ask questions she never dared to before. Was the voice she heard her brother's? Ben was a misfit in their small town, but was he capable of murder? Are there secrets to uncover at the family farm or is Libby deluding herself because she wants her brother back?

She begins to realise that everyone in her family had something to hide that day... especially Ben. Now, twenty-four years later, the truth is going to be even harder to find.


Who did massacre the Day family?


What you're in for: A family slaughter. A girl left alone. Questioning. Recanting. An imperfect main character. Cleptomania. Money issues.

Monday, September 29, 2014

Audiobook Review: Revived

Revived by Cat Patrick
My Copy: Unabridged Audiobook
Publication Date: May 8, 2012
Publisher: Listening Library
Source: Library

It started with a bus crash.
Daisy Appleby was a little girl when it happened, and she barely remembers the accident or being brought back to life. At that moment, though, she became one of the first subjects in a covert government program that tests a drug called Revive.

Now fifteen, Daisy has died and been Revived five times. Each death means a new name, a new city, and a new identity. The only constant in Daisy’s life is constant change.

Then Daisy meets Matt and Audrey McKean, charismatic siblings who quickly become her first real friends. But if she’s ever to have a normal life, Daisy must escape from an experiment that’s much larger—and more sinister—than she ever imagined.

From its striking first chapter to its emotionally charged ending, Cat Patrick’s Revived is a riveting story about what happens when life and death collide.



What you're in for: Death. Revival drug. Romance. First kisses. Sadness. Surprises. Friendship. Changes. 

Friday, September 26, 2014

Review: Don't Let Go

Don't Let Go (PERSEFoNE #3) by Michelle Gagnon
My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: August 26, 2014
Publisher: HarperCollins
Source: Purchased

In this pulse-pounding final installment of the Don’t Turn Around trilogy, which in a starred review Kirkus called “The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo for teens,” Noa and Peter race across the country in their search to destroy Project Persephone before time runs out.

After a devastating loss, Noa Torson is out of options. On the run with the three remaining teens of Persephone’s Army, she is up against immeasurable odds. The group is outnumbered, outsmarted, and outrun. But they are not giving up. 

When Noa and Peter realize they can’t run anymore, and that Noa’s health is failing, they know they must go back to where this began. But when they come face-to-face with the man who started it all, the question becomes, can they win?


This riveting final book in the Don’t Turn Around trilogy ratchets up the action as Noa and Peter confront the evil that has chased them and won’t let them go.


What you're in for: On the run. Hacking. Action. Traps. Surprises. Disappointment.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search the web: