Welcome stranger/friend!

Thanks for visiting! I truly appreciate each and every visitor! Have fun browsing and reading my blog. Feel free to comment whenever the desire strikes. Have a great day/night!

Thursday, October 30, 2014

My Edgar Allan Poe Challenge

I have decided to challenge myself to reading all of Edgar Allan Poe's stories (just the stories, not the poems...I'm not a huge fan of poetry)!  I'm pretty excited about this, you guys.  I've always considered myself a fan of Poe's work, but, in reality, I think I've only ever read two of his short stories and one poem.  How can I really proclaim myself as a fan when I have read such a small portion of his very large collection of work??  So, I got thinking and I came up with this challenge for myself and what better time to start reading the complete works of Edgar Allan Poe than Halloween?

Tuesday, October 28, 2014

Top Book Characters I Would Love to be for Halloween

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish every Tuesday.  Every week it's a different topic and those of us who decide to join in share our top ten for the week's topic!

The following are book characters that I would love to be for Halloween:

Monday, October 27, 2014

Review: The Death Cure

The Death Cure (The Maze Runner #3) by James Dashner
My Copy: Paperback, 325 pages
Publication Date: October 11, 2011
Publisher: Delacorte Books
Source: Library

It’s the end of the line.

WICKED has taken everything from Thomas: his life, his memories, and now his only friends—the Gladers. But it’s finally over. The trials are complete, after one final test.

Will anyone survive?

What WICKED doesn’t know is that Thomas remembers far more than they think. And it’s enough to prove that he can’t believe a word of what they say.

The truth will be terrifying.

Thomas beat the Maze. He survived the Scorch. He’ll risk anything to save his friends. But the truth might be what ends it all. 

The time for lies is over.


What you're in for: Mysterious. Distrust. Confusion. Action. Cranks.

Thursday, October 23, 2014

What's Next?

What's Next? is a weekly meme hosted by Icey Books.  For this meme,
I provide 3-5 books that I want/have to read soon and you vote
on which one I should read next!  Super fun, I think!

So...help me decide...

Which one should I read next??

Wednesday, October 22, 2014

Moving Away From YA?


I'm Surrounded and Dominated by YA

I've been thinking this through a lot lately.  My reading and blog have been dominated by Young Adult books for so long and I do truly love YA.  In fact, I think all of my favourite books are YA.  And The Hunger Games is what kicked me into my ultimate reading frenzy!  But, lately, I've been feeling the need to read more Adult books.  I still want to read YA.  I mean, my bookshelf and Goodreads "to-read" shelf are stacked with YA books, so I definitely will read more YA.  But, this is also kind of the problem.  I got so into YA that all I was adding to Goodreads were YA books.  The blogs I follow all feature YA books.  I am SURROUNDED BY YA!!

Monday, October 20, 2014

Review: The Queen of Zombie Hearts

The Queen of Zombie Hearts (White Rabbit Chronicles #3) by Gena Showalter
My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: September 30, 2014
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Source: Purchased

I have a plan. 

We'll either destroy them for good, or they'll destroy us. 

Either way, only one of us is walking away. 

In the stunning conclusion to the wildly popular White Rabbit Chronicles, Alice "Ali" Bell thinks the worst is behind her. She's ready to take the next step with boyfriend Cole Holland, the leader of the zombie slayers…until Anima Industries, the agency controlling the zombies, launches a sneak attack, killing four of her friends. It's then she realizes that humans can be more dangerous than monsters…and the worst has only begun. 

As the surviving slayers prepare for war, Ali discovers she, too, can control the zombies…and she isn't the girl she thought she was. She's connected to the woman responsible for killing—and turning—Cole's mother. How can their relationship endure? As secrets come to light, and more slayers are taken or killed, Ali will fight harder than ever to bring down Anima—even sacrificing her own life for those she loves.


What you're in for: Zombies. Ambush. Kick-ass heroin. Romance. Action. Death. Injuries. Emotional. Awesome secondary characters. Witty writing style. Surprises. Friendship. Memories. Revelations.

Friday, October 17, 2014

Review: The Scorch Trials

The Scorch Trials (The Maze Runner #2) by James Dashner
My Copy: eBook
Publication Date: October 12, 2010
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Source: Purchased

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. No more puzzles. No more variables. And no more running. Thomas was sure that escape meant he and the Gladers would get their lives back. But no one really knew what sort of life they were going back to.

In the Maze, life was easy. They had food, and shelter, and safety... until Teresa triggered the end. In the world outside the Maze, however, the end was triggered long ago.

Burned by sun flares and baked by a new, brutal climate, the earth is a wasteland. Government has disintegrated—and with it, order—and now Cranks, people covered in festering wounds and driven to murderous insanity by the infectious disease known as the Flare, roam the crumbling cities hunting for their next victim... and meal.

The Gladers are far from finished with running. Instead of freedom, they find themselves faced with another trial. They must cross the Scorch, the most burned-out section of the world, and arrive at a safe haven in two weeks. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Thomas can only wonder—does he hold the secret of freedom somewhere in his mind? Or will he forever be at the mercy of WICKED?


What you're in for: Phase 2. Craziness. Telepathy. Illusions. Confusion. Tattoos. Surprises. Suspense. Betrayal.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Search the web: